If I Knew Then What I Know Now…

Posted: May 3, 2012 in Fitness, Food, Healthy Living, Nutrition

Most people are familiar with the saying, “hindsight is always 20/20”.  I got to thinking about that the other day. I thought of some things in terms of nutrition and exercise (go figure) that if I had only known then, I could have saved myself so much money, aggravation, and time just to name a few. I also would have savored some of those moments back then even more.  So here is my list of what I had come up with initially…

1.  If I had known what an integral part my scale would play in me becoming obsessed with a number and the fact that there is life after the ditching of the scale – I would have ditched it a long time ago.  I have spent way too many years and have cried too many tears over that thing.  Hey – that sounds like a good start to one of those sappy sad songs! 

2.  Knowing that “a healthy diet doesn’t always equal a fat-loss diet” would have been ideal to know many moons ago.  I can’t begin to fathom how different things would have been if I had been privy to that insight.  I would have known what foods specifically generate fat-loss and could have made sure I focused on them!

3.  Did you know that there are hormones that are closely linked to fat-loss and that falling for the standard “calories in/ calories out” mentality is NOT the way to go?  It is not that calories don’t matter, but for fat-loss it is more than just burning more calories than you consume.  Could have told me that sooner!

4.  All those times when I wouldn’t dare stand up from my beach towel without shimmying into my shorts first…can I take them back?!  So much time and energy expended on worrying if my thighs were too big, etc.  Ugh!  How I wish I had flaunted it!  I should have really appreciated my body back then.  I even went so far as to wear these neoprene bands around each thigh hoping to sweat and shrink my thighs.  No, no – I didn’t wear them on the beach!  (Mental image – yikes!)  Of course I had no idea way back then that even if I could sweat some weight off – it would only be temporary.  Sigh… 

 Come to think of it – where is my thigh-master?   

Buns of Steel, anyone?!

 

5.  I would like all of the money back that I spent on the copious amounts of potions and lotions that contained various toxic chemicals in them when all I needed was a jar of coconut oil!  Not only can you use it as a full body moisturizer, but you can cook with it too. In fact the uses for coconut oil seem to go on and on. Read more about it…  http://wakeup-world.com/2012/03/02/160-uses-for-coconut-oil/  ( I fully understand that there may be times when severe skin conditions may warrant the use of conventional treatments, but again I urge you to be a detective to see if your food could be the potential cause and to read any and all labels before you put something on your skin.  You should be concerned with what you put on your body just as you should be with what you put in it.)

6.  You mean frozen pizza at midnight while having a movie marathon with my family wasn’t such a great idea?  I suppose those late night runs in college to Pat’s Steaks in Philly to top off our consumption of ‘beverages” for the night were not the best option either. Inside-outs and greasy pizza from Mario’s down the street from our dorm were staples freshman year.  My stomach is turning right now as I type this just thinking about that!  Oh, and let me not forget the countless nights in high school that ended at the local diner with cheese fries and gravy – AKA Disco fries!    However, I wouldn’t trade any of those memories – not for a moment – maybe just the food given what I know now.

7.  The countless lunches and dinners that came out of a jar or a box was not proper nutrition?  Who knew?!  And yes – it wasn’t too long ago that I too was under the spell of the low-fat/no-fat craze!  If I only knew that most of those Frankenfoods were not even food at all, I could have spared myself endless bouts with indigestion, bloating, feeling sluggish, and those annoying few extra pounds.  Not to mention my body would have appreciated it more!.  Eat. Real. Food!  I have learned that message loud and clear.

These are just a few of the things that I can appreciate now as I look back to my days gone by.  But as I said in my last blog, “when we know better we do better” and that is what I have to take away from all of this reflecting.  Sure, life would be much easier if we all had a crystal ball that could save us from making costly mistakes both monetarily and health wise, but we do the best we can with the knowledge that we have at the time.  Remember all of those mistakes are not failures. They are opportunities for feedback.  Use them to create a better today and tomorrow.  Nourish your brain with knowledge so that you can then properly nourish your body.  Then hopefully there will be less instances of would have, could have, should have …if only I had known better.  

So what do YOU know now that you wish you had known then?

Comments
  1. Lisa says:

    If only I had known back then that healthy eating and loosing weight does not equal being hungry and cranky all the time….. I could have been a better mum and wife. But – I am now! 🙂

  2. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

