Are We There Yet?

Posted: June 13, 2012 in Goals, Healthy Living, Resolutions

Remember being a kid going on road trips and whining from the backseat of the car, “Are we there yet?”  This, of course, was before the dawn of iPods, DVD players in the car, or any other hand-held electronic device that occupies the time of many kids now a days when they set out on a trip.  I can remember playing things like I spy in the car to pass the time.  The best is when my family and I would listen to Billy Joel’s, We didn’t start the Fire, over and over again so that we could figure out every line in that song that was jammed packed with events that occurred throughout history!

The anticipation and excitement for the arrival of the destination can be overwhelming especially as a kid.  Of course the journey to get there can also be excruciatingly boring as well. Then something happens as adults.  Time seems to fly much quicker and before you know it there is no time to be saying, “Are we there yet?” because it is already here or has already passed us by.  Sometimes we are so consumed by a variety of things all at once that we miss the journey altogether.  And it is that very same journey that can teach us so much about ourselves, about life, and who we are and who we want to be.

Many of us set specific time frames to which we want to see certain goals completed.  Ever want to drop a few pounds for a particular event?  Perhaps an upcoming wedding, reunion, trip, etc. had you formulating a plan.  Maybe you gave yourself a date that by the time you reached it you wanted to have stopped smoking, have given up sweets, start exercising, etc.  But what happens the day after that date has come and gone especially if you didn’t accomplish the goal?  Do you just quit, or do you continue? 

I have had a realization this week as I am preparing for an upcoming photo shoot.  (Wow – it sounds like I am somebody really important when I say that – hahaha).  The date is quickly approaching, and I am nowhere near where I want to be in terms of leanness and muscle development.  Due to that fact, I have been a bit apprehensive and almost threw in the towel figuring there is no way that I can get there by next week so why bother.  Yup, I know – a completely defeatist attitude.  So I got to thinking about it, and I came to this realization…just because I may not be where I had hoped to be for that specific date, there is no reason that I can’t continue my journey right here, right now, as well as when it is all over.  The photo shoot will come and go, but the real issue is will I let me goals go with it.  Most of us are familiar with the saying that life is a journey, not a destination.  So for me this photo shoot is just another stop on my journey.  It is certainly not my destination.  In reflecting on it, I was also able to begin appreciating all of the things that I have been doing along the way and not just focus on that one day.

I share my story with you in the hopes that in the future if you set a goal with a specific time frame, you will approach your thinking differently especially if it doesn’t happen.  So the next time you say something like, “I want to lose 10 pounds by such and such a date” – don’t forget that if that date arrives and you haven’t attained that goal – just adjust your sails and continue to make it happen. 

So even if you “aren’t there yet” – savor the journey, take pride in what you are actively doing to reach your goals and if you lose your way – chart a new course.  We have the choice to whine the whole way and be miserable (which will most likely result in never reaching the goal), the choice to let internal and external factors trip us up, or the choice to appreciate the journey (the good and bad) and all the steps that we take to better ourselves all along the way. 

Keep pushing forward!!!

Leave a Reply

