A Tribute To Life

Posted: July 27, 2012 in Healthy Living

This week’s blog isn’t about nutrition.  It isn’t about exercise. This blog is a tribute to life.  This week, as the events of the tragedy in Colorado were smattered across the news, emotions were stirred up in me as I recalled the day when I was told the devastating news that a dear friend of mine had been murdered.  This is a friend whose relationship with him dates back to when we were babies.  A friend who is in all of my memories of summers past as both of our families spent vacations in Cape May, NJ, together.  A friend that is deeply missed!

 

Both tragedies were acts of senseless violence leaving us to wonder why?  What makes another human being set out to deliberately take another human being’s life?  We may be left with the lack of answers to these questions forever haunting us.  But what I do know is that while we are left to wrestle with the loss, the emptiness, the heartbreak…we are also given a chance to do good in our lives as a tribute to those whose lives have been cut so short whether from a crime, a disease, accident, etc.  If we have been blessed with another day then it is a day to love richer, hug tighter, to do wondrous things with the time we have been given. 

Many of us waste so much time and energy (myself included) worrying about the minutia of life and at the same time losing sight of the bigger picture.  We allow those negative thoughts in our head to take up too much space when we should be displacing them with thoughts that will be productive and result in bettering our lives.  I think about the frivolous things that go through my head often, especially with my self-image… Ugh!  My arms aren’t as toned as I’d like them to be!  What I need to be saying is …Wow!  These arms of mine are able to wrap tightly around the ones that I love and hold them close to me.  These legs of mine could be stronger.  Again – I should be saying these legs of mine are able to get me out of bed each morning to enjoy another day. 

We all have our issues and if you have been following my blogs (in the interest of full-disclosure) you know that my negative self-talk is one that I am always working on.  But in the wake of yet another cruel act of violence, I am vowing to work extra hard to not devalue what I have been given by corrupting it with so many toxic thoughts.  There is no need to wait for tragedy to strike in order to change – do it heredo it now.  So, what thoughts are currently residing in your head that do nothing but bring you down and waste precious time and energy?  Now is the time to work on ridding yourself of them! 

For all of the lives lost in Colorado, the lives lost for the defense of our freedom, for any life taken at the hands of another, and for my amazing dear friend, Jim, we honor you and hope that in your memory we can do more good in this world.

To Jim…this one’s for you…love and miss ya!  

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3Wly8pBuEE

My old friend, I recall
The times we had are hanging on my wall
I wouldn’t trade them for gold
Cause they laugh and they cry me and
somehow sanctify me
And they’re woven in the stories I have told
And tell again

My old friend, I apologize
For the years that have passed since the
last time you and I
Dusted off those memories
But the runnin’ and the races and the
people and the places
there was always somewhere else I had to be
And time gets thin, my old friend

Don’t know why, don’t know why
Don’t know why, don’t know why

My old friend this song’s for you
Cause a few simple verses was the least that I could do
To tell the world that you were here
‘Cause the love and the laughter will live on long after
All of the sadness and the tears
We’ll meet again, my old friend

Goodbye, Goodbye
Goodbye, Goodbye

My old friend

(Sung by Tim McGraw)

 

 

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    I think of James often and remember a bet you and I once made. You write very well – I can tell you are a teacher! I have only scratched the surface of your blog but I will try and read more later. God bless you and your family. s/Mark

  2. Mark says:

    We will have to talk about the bet sometime. You’ll remember. (The bet relates to the topic of your post.) By the way, somebody in New Jersey made some sort of error and the next thing you know I became a member of the New Jersey Bar. I talked to your Dad before I passed the Bar — let him know I passed. Apparently they let anyone into the NJ Bar!

Leave a Reply

